Governing Body of Longbenton High School

The Governing Body of Longbenton High School was re-constituted in September 2015 and is now made up of 2 staff governors (including the Headteacher), 6 elected Parent Governors, 2 Trust Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor and 9 Co-opted governors. Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school. The full Governing Body is chaired by Sheila Palmerley and meets twice in the Autumn term and once each Spring and Summer term, and we also have a number of sub-committees to consider different aspects of the school in detail. The full governing body has delegated authority to each sub-committee to plan and make decisions in line with their subject scope.  Both the subject scope and any decisions are ratified at the full governing body. The sub-committees that meet termly are Staffing (chaired by Jonathan Sanders), Curriculum (chaired by S Palmerley) and Teaching School Alliance (chaired by Katrina Moffatt, a member of George Stephenson High School Governing Body). The Finance sub-committee (chaired by Beth Brown) meet half-termly at present.

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the Governing Body of Longbenton High School has a strong focus on its three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governors Documents